I don’t need you to take care of me

So Niegel shared this on Facebook and I saw it on my timeline.

wanderinggeekette

I was told by a good guy friend recently while on the topic of my singlehood how I’m the type of girl that doesn’t need a guy to look after her and that intimidates some guys. I didn’t really correct him because I knew he was right.

I don't need you to take care of me

I grew up used to doing things on my own. I hate the idea of having guys carry my purses. I enjoy the occasional movie and dinner on my own (add a recent discovery of drinking out by myself). I prefer shopping without a hapless dude following me around to carry my shopping bags. I don’t need anyone to take care of me in that respect. I was raised to be quite independent and frankly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

However, that does not mean that I don’t want companionship. I’ve been single my entire life and it’s something I’ve found…

View original post 713 more words

Leave a Reply

